Vegetable Stir-Fry with Tofu.

Tuesday 21st June 2011

And so it came to be…

The tofu has been sitting in the fridge staring at me for the past month and so after my beef burger fiasco a few days ago it was time to unleash the tofu. 😉

I made this with onions, red pepper, green beans, tofu, mushrooms, egg noodles & the sauce was garlic, ginger & coconut milk.

I used to cut the skin off of cucumber for years because someone told me that their mum did. I didn’t question it or taste the skin to find out why, I just did it. I did very similar with potatoes & carrots until I found out the skin contained all the goodness.
When my Dad came over recently I asked him to help me prep the mushrooms for cooking. He washed and dried them but left the inch long stems attached to the cap.

“You can snap the stem off Dad. We don’t need them…” I said.

He looked at me incredulously.

“…they are a bit woody. They don’t taste good.” I continued. Again this is just something someone told me and so without question I did.

He began snapping off the stems before saying;

“When I was a boy my Mum used to buy a bag of just stems because mushrooms were too expensive. How times have changed.”

We didn’t use the stems that day but it made me rethink what decision I make & why I make them. Not just about food but about everything. A useful lesson to have learnt. I don’t cut the stems off anymore. I’ve worked out that they are only woody tasting when they’re old. Like most things, I suppose.

Zephy’s verdict on the tofu;

“Half half.” He said.

Make of that what you will.

20110621-111201.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vegetable Stir-Fry with Tofu.

  1. Stef says:

    Yay tofu!

    My mom is of the school of ‘peel everything’ (cucumbers, potatoes, carrots, apples, etc…); and she looks at me like I’m crazy when I cook with everything whole. I tell her, “Mom, the skin is where the goodness is” – and it’s so true. Fiber, nutrients, vitamins, and, most notably, TASTE! 🙂

    I also use mushroom stems. 🙂

  2. roger edwards says:

    lets BIG UP mushroom stalks

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was very tasty. The sauce was lovely with the ginger and coconut milk.

Leave a Reply

