Chocolate Baguette.

Thursday 23rd June 2011

At the end of my Mum’s road there is a little shopping precinct. In this precinct there used to be an old fashioned baker’s. The type that had iced buns & bakewell tarts in the window. Before you could get slices of pizza & jumbo sausage rolls. A real baker’s.
When I was old enough to be given some independence, Mum would ask me to go down to the baker’s to get the bread.

We always had the same thing; a crusty bloomer. It was usually warm a soft. Both ends of the loaf exposed the doughy inners, where it had been separated from the batch.

On the 3 minute walk back to Mum’s I would start to nibble at this bit until I got home. It was so morish that on occasion I had been known to devour a substantial part of the loaf before I handed it over to Mum. 🙂

I always take a chocolate nutella sandwich on Mondays after school for, my son, Zephyrus. He is a stickler for routine and berates me if for some reason I take a cheese spread sandwich instead.

20110623-020242.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Afternoon Snack, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chocolate Baguette.

  1. rutheh says:

    Good bread is so important and sometimes difficult to procure. I use Joy of Cooking French Bread recipe to bake it for guests on a stone in the oven. Love the story of your buying the bread and nibbling it on the way home.

  2. Stef says:

    Morish? I’m not sure what that means….

    I do love reading your blog and learning all of these fun new vocabulary words (and food combinations) – it’s quite fun for me. 🙂

    As for the Monday routine: Every Monday needs some chocolate, right? 😉

    • Morish or sometimes spelt moreish, is the desire for more. Normally used for food.

      Some of Zephy’s classmates are given a piece of baguette with a chocolate bar shoved inside. I love the idea of soft baguette with cold brittle chocolate. Yum. 😉

  3. Oh wow! Can’t have Nutella in the house very often or I’ll end up eating it by the spoonful. That just causes problems “all around”.

  4. roger edwards says:

    i served a customer with a cup of coffee and put a cinnamon biscuit on the side of the saucer. she declined the biscuit. i said what a good girl she was. not really she said.i usually finish the evening by the tv with nuttella. nuttella on toast i suggested. no with the jar and a spoon

Leave a Reply

