Fusilli Carbonara.

Sunday 26th June 2011

Heading home today and so, as we have to clean & tidy the carnage that we’ve created here over the last few days, I always make pasta & pesto as our parting lunch. It’s from a jar so leaves very little washing up to do. On a day when time is precious, I can definitely think of better things to be doing rather than ‘slaving over a hot stove’, as Mum would say.

“What have we got for lunch today?” My son, Zephy enquired.

“Pasta & pesto.” I informed him.

“Ooh..” He groaned.

“Why, what’s wrong with pasta & pesto?” I asked.

“It’s just that we always have pasta & pesto and I would prefer a different pasta like…” He thought for a minute before saying; “…carbonara or something.”

“Your wish is my command.” I said.

I do like to be given ideas of what to eat. I might not always take them up but day-in-day-out I get tired of thinking about what to make. It’s nice to have a helping hand.

I made this one with crème fraiche & whole grain mustard. Everyone was pleased. 🙂

20110626-104858.jpg

This entry was posted in Eggs, Lunch, Pasta, Pork, Vegetarianish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fusilli Carbonara.

  1. Stef says:

    Creme fraiche and whole grain mustard sound like a great duo! And I love the egg cups sitting in the pasta – super cool presentation. 🙂

  2. roger edwards says:

    i love carbonnara. i’m not sure about the egg!!!

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    Wonderful. Yes much better than Pesto! Thanks for making the effort.

Leave a Reply

