Filet Steak With Roquefort Sauce, Crushed Potatoes & Fine Green Beans.

Monday 27th June 2011

One of the best steaks I’ve ever had #3.

I can’t resist buying steak when we go to France. They cost about 6 euros a pop, which is quite a slash out, but they are totally worth it.

Dad used to work in the print room of the Daily Telegraph newspaper in Fleet Street, London. It was based in a huge art deco building that has since been sold and turned into office space. When I was about 7 years old he took me to work with him. Newspapers are usually printed at night but for some reason he was on the early shift and so could take me with him. The printing room was noisy & hot. There was a slight fog of ink in the air. For a 7 year old everything was enormous, the machines, the wrenches, the rolls of paper and even the huge burly ink-covered men with hairy forearms were gigantic.
At break time Dad took me to the canteen. In my memory it was on the top floor but I’ll have to check that with Dad. Two ladies with hairnets served up hearty meals for growing men. Of course they made a big fuss of me as they loaded up my plate. Dad ordered me a T-bone steak. I remember one of the women asking;

“D’you want beans with that dear?”

I had no choice in the matter. My plate was already swimming in them. Dad & I walked to a formica table. Dad with his thumb in the bean juice dripping down the side of my plate and me with two hands wrapped around a bowl of spotted dick & custard.
I don’t remember eating the steak, just the size of the beast. It covered most of the plate. I guess, it ain’t always what you eat, it’s where you eat it.

Zephy’s verdict on our steaks;

“Good but more sauce next time.”

Ah, you gotta love him.

20110627-092119.jpg

This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Filet Steak With Roquefort Sauce, Crushed Potatoes & Fine Green Beans.

  1. Stef says:

    Do you have a Top 10 steak list? Will we get through them all by year-end? 😉

    What are crushed potatoes? They look fantastic!

    • Not sure if I’ve got 10 but I’ll give it a go. 😉

      Slowly boil the potatoes until soft. Doing them slowly stops them from falling apart while they cook. Once soft, crush the potatoes very slightly but be sure not to flatten them. Then roast in the oven until crispy.

      • Stef says:

        What temp should the oven be? For roughly how long do you both boil, then bake, your potatoes? These look delish – I will absolutely have to try them.

      • I always have my oven on 210°C. For some reason I can’t switch it down.

        I boiled the potatoes for about 20/25 minutes but kept checking until I could get a knife easily through the centre. Leave them to cool for a bit before crushing. It prevents burnt fingers. 😉

        Cooking time was between 30/40 minutes. Again, I kept watching until they were golden brown.

  2. roger edwards says:

    looks loveley. i do love a bit of cheese sauce

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    Another absolutely gorgious steak perfectly cooked and a delicious sauce. Thanks

  4. rutheh says:

    Enjoyed the images of your going to your father’s workplace and that giant steak on your plate.

Leave a Reply

