Asparagus Risotto.

Thursday 30th June 2011

I continue with my ongoing quest to clear my freezer box. I have been taking full advantage of not having to cook every night by giving the kitchen a good spring clean.

One of my Mum’s most loyal & constant friends is a woman I grew up calling Auntie Ann. (a.k.a. Ruggie.) She has been of great support to my Mum over the last 45 years but she & Mum are like chalk & cheese. Their lives couldn’t have been more different. One of the many things we love Auntie Ann for is her thoughtfulness & her ability to organise. She never forgot our birthdays as children and even now remembers my sons birthday even though she doesn’t see him from year to year. Her organisational skills are best put to the test when it comes to freezer control. Unlike my Mum’s freezers, (yes, plural) which are jammed to capacity without indication as to what’s in each ice-ladened basket, Ann’s freezer gets rotated every three months. Not only that, everything is labelled & categorised for convenience. She is a force to be reckoned with. Albeit a freezer force.

I place myself somewhere between the two but with aspirations for the latter. Fortunately, I don’t have space to be like my Mum but fortunately I do possess the right amount of anal-retentiveness to be more like my Auntie Ann. I have however been a little lacks of recent. So much so that when I take a Tupperware box of leftovers out of the freezer I haven’t got a clue what it is I’m defrosting. It could be a curry, a stew or a soup. It’s pot luck.

*Mental note to self: buy multicoloured stickers for colour coding. (For those of you who know me, you’ll know that I’m not joking. ๐Ÿ™‚ )

Zephy’s verdict on the risotto:

“I didn’t know what it was when I was eating it. I thought it was pasta or something” He said.

I must admit I was a little over indulgent with the cream I added to loosen the whole thing up when reheating but the rice still had bite and it tasted pretty good too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

20110630-094509.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nanโ€™s house and of course mumโ€™s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when heโ€™s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Rice, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Asparagus Risotto.

  1. I use a Sharpie permanent marker to label. Once the lid has been through the dishwasher, the ink rubs right off. I don’t know if it will after handwashing. Asparagus Risotto was on my To Do list for the week. I can’t make it now, I’ll just feel like a copycat. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Stef says:

    “Like chalk and cheese” – I have never heard that before; but I like it! Did you make that up, or is it a common British expression?

    In the fridge, I use masking tape to put a label on whatever it is we’re storing in Tupperware. In the freezer, I use plastic zip top baggies and then I write on them with a permanent marker.

    My mom had multiple refrigerators and freezers that were all a jumble, too. I swung the pendulum the other way. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • No, it’s ‘as common as muck’ in Britain. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      Masking tape sounds like a great idea, thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

      I think you and Auntie Ann would get along just fine. As long as you kept to the topic of freezer organisation. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. roger edwards says:

    i must ask ruggie to read your blog. dont mention knitting to her!!!!

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    It was still a delicious risotto.

Leave a Reply

