Vegetables, Mash Potato & Gravy.

Friday 1st July 2011

And so disaster struck…

Not on the same scale as the devastating tsunami that hit the coast of Japan earlier this year or even as bad as Cheryl Cole being kicked off of the panel of judges on American X Factor, but disaster all the same.

Before I left for work yesterday morning I took a Tupperware pot of what looked like beef stew out of my ever decreasing freezer. I couldn’t remember what it was nor could I make out from just looking at it if I was right. It had carrots and it was brown. It had to be stew right?

Wrong!

I prepared the cauliflower & extra carrots and even mashed the potatoes before going to the fridge to retrieve what I thought was going to be a thawed plastic tub of rich, chunky beef stew. The first sign that something was wrong was when I tipped the gelatinous blob into a sauce pan to reheat. There was no beef. I stirred & stirred as the lump began to melt but alas there was no sign of a piece of beef in sight. I had defrosted a tub of lamb gravy that had carrots in it.

So that’s what we had for dinner last night. Mashed potato, cauliflower, carrots & lamb gravy. 🙂

20110701-102416.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lamb, Potatoes, Vegetarianish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vegetables, Mash Potato & Gravy.

  1. Stef says:

    An impromptu almost-vegetarian meal. 🙂

  2. roger edwards says:

    it looks scrummy. put me down for a large portion

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    It was a very tasty gravy & veg dish! I didn’t fancy the beef anyway!

Leave a Reply

