Green Salad with Avocado.

Saturday 2nd July 2011

My little spring clean of the kitchen which I started a few days ago has turned into a big spring clean of the kitchen. Meaning I’ve decided to paint it as well. This entails taking everything out and dumping it in the hallway thus ending up with something that resembles a minimalist work space. Therefore I’m putting together something that leaves very little mess or washing up.

We almost never have take away food. Maybe once a year, my wife & I , might order in one of the 3 or 4 options we have locally. Pizza, the kind that is too doughy & overly ladened with topping. Chinese, that is heavy on the MSG which means I’m up all night going to the loo because I’ve had to drink 3 litres of water to try & quench my thirst or Indian which is ok but not a patch on the kind of curries you can get in the UK. There are a few other places popping up now in the neighbourhood but the custom here is to go out for dinner rather than order in. So our best option for an emergency situation is either spit roast chicken or manufactured pizza from the supermarket. We went with the pizza this time. I get a 4 cheese pizza normally and then spruce it up with whatever we’ve got in the fridge.

So as I didn’t make the pizza, by my own rules, I can’t post it. However, I did make the salad that went with it. 😉

20110702-105738.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Green Salad with Avocado.

  1. Stef says:

    And I think you put more effort into the salad than many people put into making their entire meals; it looks gorgeous!

  2. roger edwards says:

    do you know. i think i could eat a salad like that

Leave a Reply

