Banana Split.

Tuesday 5th July 2011

I would normally use ice cream in a banana split but we didn’t have any and the yoghurt I threw in the freeze didn’t freeze quick enough for me to use. In fact it’s still in there. (I imagine it’s frozen by now 😉 )

“Daddy if I tell you something you mustn’t tell anyone, it’ll be our secret ok…” He whispered in my ear as I was emptying the bins.

“It doesn’t matter, just put them in the washing bin. Good boy for telling me.” I said jumping the gun.

“No, not that…” He said indignantly. “Can you make me a banana split thing and bring it into me while I watch tv?” He whispered even quieter.

“Ok, I’ll see what I can do but we don’t have the stuff to make a banana split.” My reply fell on deaf ears, or in his case ear. (He’s deaf in one ear.)

I set about putting something together and then got distracted. Ten minutes later he popped his head round the kitchen door.

“How you getting on with that split Dad?”

“I’m on it…” I bluffed. “…just waiting for the yogurt to freeze.”

Wishful think on my behalf, as there was no way my yoghurt was going to solidify enough in 10 minutes. I ended up with the all important banana, half a peach, Greek yoghurt, blueberries, honey and chocolate shavings.

“Thank you Daddy.” He said as I put it down in front of him.

20110705-101318.jpg

This entry was posted in Afternoon Snack, Dessert, Fruit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Banana Split.

  1. Stef says:

    When we’re out of ice cream, I’ll freeze vanilla pudding… (well, semi-freeze; I, too, am usually too impatient for a full freeze). 🙂

    Your split looks a lot healthier than what I’d usually make.

    Was your son born deaf in one ear?

  2. roger edwards says:

    i might try it even with the yoghurt . it looks fantastic . worth £25( or euros) of any bodies money

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was a wonderful monster dessert. He’s a lucky boy!

Leave a Reply

