Yellow Plum & Raisin Crumble.

Wednesday 6th July 2011

Fruit goes off really fast in this hot weather. Even in the fridge it has a short shelf life. Blueberries, strawberries, raspberries or any of the soft ones have to be eaten within a day or they start to mould. Eating them after that is a bit like Russian roulette, especially strawberries. They might look safe and you may think you have cut off the bad bit but the taste buds can detect the slightest hind of penicillin which can ruin something so beautiful to the point where you have to stop buying them for a bit until the memory has faded.

This was made out of necessity more than anything. The plums had already moved from the fruit bowl to the fridge. Their next port-of-called would have been the compost bin.

“We ought to do something with those plums…” Said my wife.

She has a knack of saying ‘we’ when she means ‘me’.

“…they’re a bit too soft to eat now. We could stew them up or something.” She encouraged. 😉

I took them out of the oven before we sat down for dinner thinking 20 minutes would be enough time for them to cool down sufficiently for us to eat without causing third degree burns.

“What d’ya think Zeph?”

“Boiling!” He spluttered, spitting a mouthful of burning hot crumble from his mouth.

Oops!

20110706-094819.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yellow Plum & Raisin Crumble.

  1. Ruth says:

    Worth a burned tongue for sure.
    Delicious

  2. Stef says:

    Or perhaps your wife simply employs the royal ‘we’ – just in the third person instead of the first? 😉

    The crumbles look great! Maybe cool them down with some vanilla ice cream? 😉

  3. Joss says:

    So much less would get done without that royal “we”! hee hee.

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    I’m glad I did a bit of encouraging as it was another delicious dessert. Thanks.

  5. roger edwards says:

    any crumble does me. with extra crumble please!!

Leave a Reply

