Greek Yoghurt with Mango Coulis.

Saturday 9th July 2011

“…’cos tonight’s gonna be a good night, ‘cos tonight’s gonna be a good night, ‘cos tonight’s gonna be a good good night…”

I was in my own world as I sang out loud at the dinner table. It was just my son, Zephyrus, & I for dinner tonight. My wife had gone out with the girls for dinner.

My son stopped, spoon in hand, mouth open and stared at me. At first I didn’t notice. As I said I was in my own world.

“You…” He began. “…are…a freak!” He concluded.

It was only then that noticed he was sitting right next to me.

I smiled. I love it when recognises my best qualities.

“I was never allowed to do that when I was a kid.” I told him.

“Do what?”

“Sing at the table…” I said. “…we weren’t allowed to do lots of things at the table. Singing, elbows on the table, eating off your knife.” I continued.

I still feel this is probably a wise thing to teach your children but I’ve never cut my tongue on my knife and I’ve been doing it, in private of course 😉 , for years. Still, ours is not to question why, our is just to do or…cut your tongue, in this case.

“…that is why, now I’m the-big-Daddy-mac, I can do what I want. And what I wanna do, is sing at the table…Now take your elbows of the table.” I winked.

He looked down at his elbows then back at me and smiled.

“So what do you think?” I asked when he had finished his dessert.

“8 out of 10” He pronounced.

“Why only 8?” I pushed.

“I don’t like Greek yoghurt.”

“You…” I said. “…are…a freak!” 🙂

20110709-110820.jpg

This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Greek Yoghurt with Mango Coulis.

  1. roger edwards says:

    looks good enough o eat. but i’m with zeph. i think i dont likr greek yoghurt if it is plain. i like some flavour

    the owner of the shellfish stall was tom card. any help?

  2. Stef says:

    “So – now – tell me whatcha want whatcha really really want!”
    My mother-in-law is a big Peas fan. Me too.
    I don’t like plain greek yogurt, but with something added (like fruit, or jam, etc.) I think it’s great.
    But I don’t like mango. 🙂

  3. rutheh says:

    I love Greek yogurt with cooked blackberries on top. Yours looks most refreshing.

Leave a Reply

