Guacamole, Tomato Salsa, Cucumber & Yoghurt Dip, Nachos & Bread.

Monday 11th July 2011

Probably not unlike other boys of 8 years old, my son is incredibly tenacious. He is very particular about routine and sticking to what we say we are going to do. If we say we are going to do something we have to do it or it goes against everything that any one person should have to put up with. A crime of the greatest proportion and possibly something Amnesty International should be looking into.

I’ve looked into the possibility of him being autistic & have dropped several boxes of toothpicks on the floor in front of him (Obscure Rainman reference.) but not once has he come up with a winner on the 4.30 at New market. I think more than anything he is the product of his Mum & Dad. Which makes it all the more difficult to face up to when he exhibits these traits.

“What you doing there big guy?” I enquired poking my head round the door of the tv room.

He was browsing through the cookbook my Mum gave him last time she was over.

“Just looking at what we’re gonna make next.” He informed me.

I didn’t want to take over or ruin the moment so I backed away and let him get on with it.

Later at bedtime I quizzed him further.

“Well, we’re gonna start with these dips, then these noodles and then we need something for postre…(Dessert, we often speak in Spanglish.)…something not too filling.” He told me.

Anyway, Saturday came and was on the verge of going when he came home for his bath, dinner and then bed, when he remembered that he was supposed to make the meal. I explained that we would make it for lunch on Sunday but he wasn’t having any of it, and so began grabbing stuff from the fridge and pulling bowls & cutlery out of the cupboards. My efforts at dissuading him were ignored as he set about making his dips. The Greek yoghurt & cucumber dip, he made totally on his own, albeit in a huff.

Once I realised he was going to make them whether I liked it or not, I decided I would get him into the bath quicker if I joined in and helped out.

In the end, we made them together and I still got him into the bath on time. He made a very good job of the dips too. 😉

20110711-114025.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guacamole, Tomato Salsa, Cucumber & Yoghurt Dip, Nachos & Bread.

  1. lol…the toothpicks

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    I must say it seemed like the night was going to be a disaster but actually it ended wonderfully with us all going your combined creations.

  3. Stef says:

    That’s quite a spread your son made! Many kids are that way – the world is so big and vast that, for them to make sense of it and feel safe in it, it has to have a certain element of “all-or-nothing”, “black-or-white” to it. Heck, I know some adults who live with this mindset, too…. 😉

Leave a Reply

