Gazpacho with Spring Onions, Red Pepper & Croutons.

Tuesday 12th July 2011

One of my students gave me the idea for this dish. It has been on my list of things to make for quite some time now but it was because of Cristina’s eloquent description that I thought I’d give it a go. It was the first of 4 dishes we had for dinner that night.

I used 2 big tomatoes, cored but not peeled. 1 whole red pepper, 2 cloves of garlic & 3 inches of cucumber, peeled. I puréed everything in a food processor and added a glass of water. It made enough for 3 bowls. Cristina’s advice at this point was to strain the liquid through a sieve but I didn’t bother. It was sufficiently puréed for my liking. Put it in the fridge for as long as possible before serving. Ice cubes are optional.

The croutons were diced, slices of brown bread. I lightly sprinkled the baking tray & bread with olive oil before oven baking them for about 10 minutes turning them every 2/3 minutes until crispy & brown.

When I put it in front of Zephyrus, he immediately started ladling in the raw spring onions & peppers, and croutons.

* “Whoa…no pica una mica, pica molt!” He said after his first fiery mouthful.

Yeah, spring onions & garlic will do that every time. 😉

* “Whoa…that’s not just a little hot, it’s very hot!”

20110712-100544.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gazpacho with Spring Onions, Red Pepper & Croutons.

  1. Cris says:

    Mmmm..! Good picture! With the spring onions and garlic i’m sure that was very hot!!
    I’m happy because my recommendation has had good results!
    Bon profit! 

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was a wonderful gaspacho. I had only just had it for lunch that day in a restaurant and I must say yours was much better.

  3. Stef says:

    I’ve always been curious about gazpacho, but have never eaten it… I imagine the raw onions and peppers would make it fiery, indeed!

Leave a Reply

