Mushrooms Stuffed with Goat’s Cheese, Tomatoes & Shallots on German Bread.

Wednesday 13th July 2011

I’ve been trying, for what feels like ages, to make some lighter, more summery meals and move away from the heftier meat & potato leftovers that have been dominating my freeze space for the past few months. But all I seem to want to eat is pasta & salad. I found this in our local English speaking magazine, Barcelona Metropolitan.

Complying with my on going efforts to run down the back log of food in the cupboards (Anyone would think I stock pile food the way I talk about clearing out the surplus produce in my house.), I’ve taken to shopping every few day for the things I need, as opposed to the once a month shop that is usual for me.

I try to do as little shopping as possible with my 8 year old son, Zephyrus. Only because it takes twice as long & I spend most of my time saying; ” No, not today. Put it back please.” or “No, I’m not buying those. They’re rubbish…they’ll rot your teeth.” But unfortunately, as needs must, I took him with me to source the bits we needed for dinner that night.

In our local supermarket, the fruit & veg section is situated next to the cereal section which is a potential mine field for confrontation. I like to know what we need so we can get in & out quickly. That way we have less questions about why he can’t have cereal with chucks of chocolate in for breakfast.

Being the main ingredient for our evening meal, mushrooms were high on my list of necessities so we hit the veg section first carefully avoid the danger zone.

As I was scanning the cold shelves for portobello mushrooms, Zephy amused himself with a box of avocados, checking each one for ripeness. We are always on the look out for avocados that don’t break your teeth or have to be thrown away because mould has had the lions share of them. Unsuccessful with my portobello search I headed for the cheese counter only to see Zeph with his good ear plastered to the watermelons, tapping each one.

“Whatcha do there Z?” I enquired.

“Seeing how good they are.” Came the reply.

It was funny to see my son at home in the fruit & veg boxes, completely au fait with how to choose them.

After listening to the vibrations of at least half a dozen watermelons, he was contented to move on but not before he picked up an aubergine.

“Dad…how about this?” He said holding it to his ear and tapping it.

Well, kind of. πŸ˜‰

20110713-110821.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mushrooms Stuffed with Goat’s Cheese, Tomatoes & Shallots on German Bread.

  1. I was saving my hard-earned goat cheese for a very special blog post…stuffed portabellos with roasted red peppers. Back to the drawing board. πŸ˜‰

  2. rutheh says:

    This afternoon I showed a friend your blog on her new iPad and we read all the posts back to April, looking for a shot of the tiny kitchen I told her about. Any chance you have a shot of your kitchen, as I didn’t read carefully enough to see it was on holiday and not your kitchen.
    All this time I was picturing that kitchen. We enjoyed reading the posts together. Only thing we opted to pass on was the lamb hearts but that is just cause we don’t know them growing up probably. Anyway, we would love to see a pic of your kitchen. ; -)

Leave a Reply

