Ricotta, Spinach & Walnut Ravioli with Roquefort Sauce.

Saturday 16th July 2011

What…a bloody…nightmare!

I made, what felt like a billion, raviolis a few months ago and froze them to have on a day such as this.

I dusted them in flour, stacked them in a Tupperware box & stuck them in freezer.

My plan was to cook them from frozen but at the last minute I chickened out and thought they might not cook all the way through. So I got them out a few hours before cooking time.

I made the sauce & got the water bubbling before opening the box. Not surprisingly, they had thawed. Not only thawed but had stuck to the ravioli underneath which, in turn, had stuck to the one below and so on.

I pulled the block of pasta apart swearing at myself for being so stupid. If only I had cooked them from frozen. Each piece I pulled off ripped the top off of the one below. It was incredibly disheartening.

As you can see, I did manage to salvage something but depressingly I had to throw away about 15 precious pieces of ravioli that Zephy & I worked so hard to make. 😦

Still, at least something is better than nothing. πŸ™‚

20110717-010152.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Pasta, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ricotta, Spinach & Walnut Ravioli with Roquefort Sauce.

  1. Stef says:

    Did you freeze them individually? For items like this (or individual cookie dough pieces, or berries, etc.) I freeze them spread out on a baking sheet – and then once they are all frozen, I stack or bag.

    Bummer, dude. (As Zephy would say.) πŸ™‚

  2. roger edwards says:

    i like a bit of white sauce with cheese

  3. rutheh says:

    How sad to lose some of them after all that effort but the ones you photographed look good to me.

Leave a Reply

