One-Pot Noodles.

Sunday 17th July 2011

I think I mentioned last week that I found my son, Zephyrus, browsing through a cookbook, & that he told me of his plans to make a starter, a main & a dessert. Well, it wasn’t quite made when he wanted but we did eventually get round to doing it. Well…I say we, but he kind of lost interest after he had chopped up all the ingredients and went to jump around on his bed instead, leaving me to throw it all into the pot.

The end result was much better than I had anticipated.

He chopped up 4 spring onions, a couple of cloves of garlic, about 12 mushrooms & a whole red pepper into bit-sized pieces while I put the kettle on. Then I gave him 2 chicken breasts to do the same thing with. In the meantime I grated the rind of a lemon before giving it to him to juice. Once the kettle was boiled I put 250ml of boiling water & a stock cube in a jug and got Zephy to stir it until it had dissolved. Then he added a splash if soy sauce, a pinch of sugar & I put in a pinch of chilli flakes. Didn’t want him to then go and rub him eyes. Boy that chilli can smart!

After that he buzzed off. 😉

Not surprisingly really, all that chopping must have knocked him out.

At this point I threw the veg & chicken into the wok with a little sesame oil & cooked it until the chicken went white. You could substitute the chicken for a vegetarian equal or even do it without.

Then I added the stock with the chilli flakes, sugar, soy sauce, lemon juice & rind. When it was boiling, I turned it down to low & left it to cook for 2 minute. I broke up the egg noodles, about 200g, and mixed them into the wok. You have to put a lid on and leave it for about 3 more minutes.

I thought that it was going to be wet & soupy but the noodles & the chicken soaked up all the stock which made it beautifully tender.

I’m sure we’ll be making this again. 🙂

20110717-111325.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Pasta, Vegetarianish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to One-Pot Noodles.

  1. rutheh says:

    Simply delicious.

  2. Stef says:

    Sounds like Z really did do most of the work… he did all of the mise en place, and all you had to do was heat and stir – sounds like you got the easy end of that deal! 😉

    I’m so happy to read Z is an active participant in your kitchen; what fabulous skills for any child to learn!

Leave a Reply

