Chocolate Biscuit Cake.

Monday 18th July 2011

And with this we conclude Zephy’s 3-course meal. We started with the guacamole, tomato salsa & cucumber & yoghurt dips, moved onto the one-pot noodles & here by end with the pièce de résistance; chocolate biscuit cake. As each course was made on a different day it was a bit of a lottery as to what his mood would be. On this particular day we found Zephy in good spirits. Laughing & joking, willing to take instruction and I even managed to get him to wash his hands before getting elbow deep in the proceedings.

He was also hungry.

We started with 200g of chocolate which we melted together with 100g of butter.

“Daddy, can I have a piece please?”

“Yeah, but don’t go mad…we’re having lunch soon.” I warned.

Next we put a good handful of hazelnuts & a handful of raisins in a mixing bowl.

“Can I have some?” He spluttered already munching on a fistful of hazelnuts.

Then comes the biscuits. We used 6 digestive biscuits but you could use any plain biscuit.

“Can I have one of those?” He asked as I pulled them out of the cupboard.

“Blimey, you got a hunger on boy!” I commented.

He smiled. 🙂

Now for the gooey bit. He enjoyed pouring the melted chocolate in over the nuts ‘n raisins & broken up biscuit. One of the perks being that every third stir he got to lick one of the chocolate covered raisins or hazelnuts off of the end of the spoon.

I got the silicone snowman cake mould at Christmas. And seeing as I needed something non-stick for it to set in, it was the perfect choice.

We scooped it out of the bowl and into the snowman. Then into the fridge to set for about 6 hours.

After dinner, I popped it out of the mould cut off a little and took my photo as always. I took it to the dinning table exactly as you can see in the photo.

“I’m having the big bit!” Said Zephy.

Dream on. 😉

20110718-101420.jpg

This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Biscuit Cake.

  1. Stef says:

    What a fun recipe! And the snowman makes it all the more enjoyable. 🙂

    How big is the cake mold? I might have to try this one…

Leave a Reply

