Bengali Chicken Stew.

Tuesday 19th July 2011

I’m a creature of habit. I don’t like change. I like things just the way they are. I have favourite things and rarely stray from that path. I like my coffee black/no sugar-just coffee, always have. I’ve had the same dentist for the past 17 years, who I see every 182 days without fail. Fashions will come & go but I never buy anything other than Carhartt jeans, they just fit right. Hell, I’ve not even changed my ridiculously named email address I sign up for 15 years ago when it was funny to enrol as whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight@yahoo.com . 😉

Fortunately, I’m open minded enough to try new things every now & again but if they aren’t as good as I have, I revert to type. As far as I’m concerned, the grass isn’t always greener on the other side. Sometimes it’s a bit brown or water logged.

Restaurants are no different. My standards aren’t particularly high but if the food, service, atmosphere & price are anywhere near good, I’ll be as loyal as a dog for the blind.

When we visit Mum & Dad, my wife & I always try to take advantage of the free babysitting facilities and go out for dinner. There is very little, within walking distance, for a middle aged couple, like ourselves, to do where my they live. There are a couple of grotty pubs where we could dine out on nuts & bags of crisps but if we are wanting something a bit more filling but not necessarily more health we look no further than the Akash Tandoori Restaurant. It’s been there for as long as I’ve been born. My wife & I might go there once a year and the waiters always remember us & greet us with warm friendly smiles. It really is nothing special. It’s a run down, 1970’s, old fashioned British Indian restaurant, complete with very thick table clothes, hologram of the Taj Mahal & cutlery ladened tables. It’s a visual treat.

Before I arrive I know exactly what I’m going to have. I think a lot of people are like that with curries. Mushroom Biriani, vegetable curry & a plain naan.

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. 🙂

20110719-104601.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Organic, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bengali Chicken Stew.

  1. Stef says:

    In my opinion, there is nothing wrong with loyalty. Trying something new can be fun, and staying with what is ‘known’ out of fear isn’t very healthy – but ‘rewarding’ people for a good experience, and/or knowing what you like and honoring your preferences, are both fine things in my eyes. To your point, sometimes we are already standing on lush, beautiful grass. 🙂

Leave a Reply

