Tuna & Sweetcorn Quiche with Rice Salad.

Thursday 21th July 2011

As it says in the blurb on the right of this blog, I started this blog to document what I feed my son. This entry follows my only guideline I set out for myself, which is that it must be prepared by me, myself & I. The only problem with today’s entry is that, I think, for the first time ever, the circle wasn’t completed.

I think of a quiche as a quick dinner. Make the pastry, mix the eggs with the sweetcorn, tuna and a tube of cottage cheese. Grate in some manchego cheese & a blob of creme fraiche. Spike the bottom of the flan case, put the filling in & into the oven for about 35 minutes – hey presto!

But in reality it takes ages. It’s a hour from flour to plate. Not such a quick dinner. Especially when spaghetti cooks in just 8 minutes.

Zephy got back from a party late & after cajoling him into the bath between mixing eggs & rolling out pastry, it was even later. So by the time we sat down to eat he was done.

He slumped, wet haired, over his plate, staring into the distance. I urged him to start eating but it didn’t even register that I was in the room. I left him to it.

“Daddy I don’t feel like eating. Can I have just fruit?” he asked.

We ended up reading books together while he ate a bowl of mango.

So it’s a meal I made for my son but he didn’t actually eat any of it.

Next time I’ll make spaghetti. 😉

20110721-105906.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Rice, Vegetarianish and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tuna & Sweetcorn Quiche with Rice Salad.

  1. Joanna Budden says:

    I love your blog Jonathan – you’ve got a really lovely way of writing! I hope you stuck the quiche in the fridge and Zephy can have it for his lunch. Looks yummy. What’s your pastry recipe????

Leave a Reply

