Bananas with Brandy & Cream.

Friday 22nd July 2011

“Daddy, read this bit.” He says climbing onto my bed, handing me his Geronimo Stilton book.

I have barely had my eyes open 5 seconds. I woke up to my son, Zephyrus, & my wife, Mistral, reading in his bedroom so I know what is coming.

“A family of little tomatoes is walking down the street and Dad notices that the little tomato is lagging behind, so he yells ketchup!” I read though sleep deprived eyes.

We both force out a little laugh, which isn’t easy to do convincingly.

“Why didn’t the lobster share his plankton with his Dad? Because he was a little shellfish!” I said shifting the book to the other hand in the hope of better focus.

“I don’t get it.” He said with a confused experention on his face.

“Shellfish – selfish?” I prompt.

“Oh yeah…Now read this one.” He demands.

I read on.

“What did the banana says to the judge? I’ll be sure to win my case on a-peel!” I read with a confused look on my face.

“I don’t get it.” He repeated.

Now, what I wanted to say was;

Well, as part of the judicial system that has been refined over many years with success, every defendant is entitled to request a recourse whereby he or she can ask for review from a higher tribunal, a.k.a. ‘an appeal’. That said, the joke is a play on the word ‘appeal’ juxtaposed with the word ‘peel’, as in banana.

Instead I said;

“Yeah, that ones a bit more difficult…” I told him. “…let’s just call that a rubbish joke for kids.”

“Yeah.” He said happy with my answer.

My bad. 😉

20110722-101944.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bananas with Brandy & Cream.

  1. Stef says:

    Agreed – that *is* a rubbish joke for kids!

    By contrast, your bananas look lovely…. I don’t desire alcohol often, but those look pretty smashing…

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This is always a yummy dessert for those old bananas.

Leave a Reply

