Butifarra, Pasta Swirls & Fine Green Beans.

Saturday 23rd July 2011

Today is a travel day, thus the Tupperware box. We are off on holiday & so I prepared this for Zephy to have for lunch on the plane. You don’t even get a bag of peanuts on the low-cost airlines.

I sourced the butifarra sausage from my local butcher a few days ago. They aren’t cheap at €2.25 each but they are made on site and they aren’t gristly & full of bread crumbs.

I buy this pasta in France. Its funny what different ingredients you can find only 200 miles down the road. I can’t find it in Barcelona. It’s nothing special but it holds a sauce well & it looks fun to eat.

The fine green beans are a guilty pleasure. They are out of season locally but Kenya seems to be able to produce them by the truck load. I don’t see then often but when I do I afford myself a handful. Beside Zephy could them every day of the week. They’re a sure thing.

I put it all together last night so I didn’t have to get up at the crack of dawn, and put it in the fridge.

We had a lunchtime flight so as you can never get anyone at the airport to warm it through I decided to do so at home. In to the micro it went & and unfortunately that’s where it stayed.

It was only when we were heading for the airport in the taxi that I remembered that I’d left behind in the microwave.

So for the second time this week my blog entry is again something that Zephy didn’t eat.

Maybe a name change is in order;

what didntyouhavefordinnerlastnightbecauseyoursonwastootiredtoratoryouforgottotakeitoutofthemicrowaveandleftitathomeinstead.wordpress.com

Not quite as catchy. 😉

20110723-111810.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Lunch, Pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Butifarra, Pasta Swirls & Fine Green Beans.

  1. Stef says:

    So did you take the picture last night? And what did Z eat on the plane?

    I also bring lunches with me when we travel by air; only I make mine cold, so as to avoid the whole ‘need-to-find-someone-to-heat-this-up’ hassle.

    It looks really tasty and fun! Bummer. 😦

    • Yeah, I took the photo the night trying to be super-organised.

      Luckily, I had also made a sandwich & a pot of grapes. He was as happy as Larry watching a movie on my phone and eating his picnic.

      It was a pretty good excuse for my blog post too. 😉

  2. Stef says:

    Oh – and where are you flying to? How long will you be gone? All 3 of you, I imagine?

  3. How frustrating for you. I don’t envy the person who first opens the microwave when you get home.

  4. roger edwards says:

    i bet the neighbors enjyed retrieving it from the micro and eating it it looks LUURSH!!

  5. Mistral Zagni says:

    This butifarra is a good one with good quality meat. usually I am not a fan of butifarras but this is a well sourced one. Thanks

Leave a Reply

