Spinach & Goat’s Cheese Tarts with Rice Salad & Fine Green Beans.

Sunday 24th July 2011

I won’t be cooking much over the next few weeks as we are travel around visiting relatives, which is mostly a blessing (not cooking I mean 😉 ) but sometimes frustrating. But I will do my best to post the things I am able to make for Zephy.

In the meantime here’s something I made last week to finish up the last few bits in the fridge & freezer. Incidentally, I left my freezer with 2 pots of homemade stock – 1 pork & 1 chicken, 2 ice-cube trays which I though I’d lost & some lambs liver.
I’m very proud of myself. I am certainly not my mother’s son. 😉

I sweated the spinach and then mixed it with some raisins & crème fraiche. Scored the slab of pastry, about 1cm in from the edge & placed the spinach mixture inside the scored area. When it cooks the sides will rise up and the part with the filling will be too heavy to rise thus creating a nice little tartlet. I finished off the tarts with a little goat’s cheese & honey.

The rice was made with pilar rice and everything & anything I found in the fridge.

I asked Zephy what he was looking forward to food-wise in England.

“Playing tennis.” He replied. (One track mind. 😉 )

“No to eat, you wally!”

He thought for a bit.

“Fish & chips, yeah fish & chips.”

“ok…” I said. “…I’ll see what I can do.”

20110724-104401.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Pastry, Rice, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Spinach & Goat’s Cheese Tarts with Rice Salad & Fine Green Beans.

  1. rutheh says:

    Everything looks tasty!

  2. Stef says:

    Congrats on emptying the freezer! Quite an accomplishment!

    I’m looking forward to seeing what you make ‘on the road’… Have fun (and safe!) travels. 🙂

  3. The tarts look amazing!

  4. roger edwards says:

    i fully agree. the tarts do look amazing. i love that kind of pastry

  5. Mistral Zagni says:

    I can confirm the tarts were as good as they look. Yummy!

  6. They look yummy! Is that puff pastry? I’ve used it for other things but have always wanted to make tarts like that. So Julia Child!

Leave a Reply

