Sautéed Vegetables.

Monday 25th July 2011

Here’s one I made earlier…

I’ve been looking forward to going to the supermarket here in Britain. More than anything, to see the huge selection of fruit & veg.

It’s amazing what a 1000 miles makes to the variety of fruit & vegetables on offer. It doesn’t make it better or worse, as the reason why they have a huge range is because it’s imported and therefore has an enormous carbon footprint, but it makes a change to have choice.

It’s great to be able to pick up seedless grapes – black & white!. We just don’t get them at home. Yellow & orange bell peppers, sugar snap peas, fresh sweetcorn, swede, kale, blackberries, passion fruit, baby sweetcorn & mange tout are all treats for us. In fact we usually buy a pack of sugar snaps & mange tout to carry around with us for him to snack on. He eats them like any other child would eat crisps.

We are very lucky. 🙂

“Come on then, let’s do the A to Z of fruit n’ veg.” I suggested to amuse Zeph while he was languishing in a bubble bath.

“A-apple…B-banana…C-carrot…D-dates…E-egg plant…F-fig….G-grapes…H-horseradish…I-iceberg lettuce…J-jalopino…K-kale…L-lichees…M-mango…N-nut…O-orange…P-pineapple…Q-quince…R-raspberries…S-sweetcorn…T-tomatoes…U-Eh, we’ll come back to that…V-vine leaves…W-watermelon…X-that’s impossible…Y-yellow plum…Z-zucchini.”

It took us a while and we had to use a few American names but we got there in the end, except for U and X, that is. 😉

20110725-100702.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Potatoes, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sautéed Vegetables.

  1. Stef says:

    I love mish-mashes of stuff. Your sauteed veggies look terrific.

    As for U: ugli fruit. And X: ummm….. I’m stumped. 😉

Leave a Reply

