Pan Fried Salmon with Rice & Peas.

Tuesday 26th July 2011

Just to be clear, the meals I am posting at the moment are not ‘what I had for dinner last night’ but what I’ve accumulated over the last few weeks for occasions such as this. We are being feed like kings, as we travel around so I haven’t made a thing. I will be sure to let you know the first time I’m able to get my hands dirty.

Fish & chips are a national treasure to us Brits. It is literally fried potatoes & white battered, deep fried fish. It varies from region to region and everybody has there own favourite style. Fat chips, crispy bits, soggy batter, cod, halibut, plaice, even with gravy or curry sauce. It’s very similar to the Americans and their comprehensive coffee choices. Or the Japanese and their extensive sushi options. It may not have the same panache but it’s something that beckons me whenever I come back to the island.

So you can keep your double ristretto venti nonfat organic chocolate brownie frappuccino extra hot with foam and whipped cream upside down double blended coffee, I’ll keep my skate wing with chips & curry sauce with a gherkin on the side. 😉

Grandma treated us all to lunch today. So as I was browsing the menu I asked Zephy what he would like.

“Have they got fish n’ chips?” He asked.

It’s in the blood.

20110726-092823.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Fish, Rice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pan Fried Salmon with Rice & Peas.

  1. LOL We do like our whippy coffees.

  2. Stef says:

    I chuckled at your description of our coffees, and your chips. So true – and therefore, so funny. 🙂

    The dish looks delish!

Leave a Reply

