Shepherds Pie.

Wednesday 27th July 2011

At last I’m back in the kitchen!

When my wife & I started cooking for my son, Zephyrus, we were adamant that he wasn’t going to be a fussy eater. We wanted him to enjoy eating all kinds of food not just boiled chicken breast & slices of cucumber. 1) because it makes family cooking easier when everybody eats the same thing and 2) when eating out, or at other people’s houses, it won’t restrict his options and ultimately our enjoyment of eating in a restaurant.

We worked hard on varying his diet and being persistent with re-trying foods he wasn’t that keen on. Right at the beginning we read that it can take more than a few tries of the same taste before a child will except it. We adhered to this mantra and were lucky that for the most part he has a remarkable palette with the exception of cucumber, although I do keep trying.

Now this is all good in theory but like so many of our bright ideas, this one too has back fired on us.

This last week he has struggled to eat; Breakfast, lunch or dinner. Maybe he’s lost his appetite or maybe in trying not to make him a fussy eater, we’ve turned him into a fussy eater!

This was not my intension when we so painstakingly made all his baby food from scratch or encouraged an interest in food.

I knew this meal was familiar to him and thankfully, I lucked out, he ate the whole thing bar 2 mouthfuls which I polished off. 😉

20110727-103933.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Lamb, Organic, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shepherds Pie.

  1. sally t says:

    Hi Jon! Any tips on encouraging an eight-year-old to eat salad and not see it as some kind of punishment? Ta. Sally

  2. rutheh says:

    Cool to see the interior and exterior. Looks like comfort food to me.

  3. Stef says:

    Hmm… is it just that with changes in schedule, routine, and things that are familiar, his appetite is suffering? I know when I travel I tend to be less hungry… (and I’m an adult!) 🙂

    The pie does look delish…

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    He certainly polished this off so putting our minds to rest for a day! Well donex

Leave a Reply

