Thai Green Curry.

Thursday 28th July 2011

“It’s really easy.” My friend, Mark, said when he gave me the recipe.

I always shy away from Asian food, thinking that it’s really complicated and that the mixture of spices must be exact or else it will taste bland or watery. But having now made it I can safely say that the most difficult thing about it is getting hold of the ingredients.

I hit the supermarket armed with my shopping list only to be disappointed that they didn’t have all the elements that I needed to make it. I was in the aisle for foreign food for about 20 minutes looking for kaffir lime leaves, green curry paste & fish sauce. All I came up with was a bottle of fish sauce & 3 different jars of curry paste but no lime leaves. On closer inspection the curry paste had all the ingredients already in it and so was, in effect, a jar of ready made sauce.

I cut my loses, bought one of the jars & a tin of coconut milk and made do.

It was very nice and went down well with the family but the cooking experience for me was a bit lacking.

Thanks for recipe Mark. I’ll just have to keep my eyes peeled for the right stuff. πŸ™‚

20110728-070856.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Rice, Seafood and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thai Green Curry.

  1. I had to scratch my Spicy Szechuan Shrimp with coconut milk idea from the drawing board the other day when I found that my hulled coconut had sprouted green specks. Now I’m glad I did. I don’t like mimicking other blogger’s posts. πŸ˜‰ This looks great! Are those green beans?

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was absolutely delicious. I’ll be happy to have that again thanks.x

Leave a Reply

