Spaghetti Bolognese.

Friday 29th July 2011

I moved out of my parents house when I was 18. I went to London to live with a friend from school. Around that same time my peers moved away from the area to go to University. Although we moved to different parts of the country we were sent on our way with one thing in common. How to make spaghetti bolognese, or the equivalent vegetarian version in my case.

It was the cheapest, easiest & most filling meal that also, if you made a big enough pot, could last you a few days, naysay a week. It was basically a load of cut up veg in a tomato sauce with boiled spaghetti. You couldn’t go wrong.

The basic premise of the recipe has stayed the same with only a few tweaks over the years. The most obvious change being the addition of 500g of minced beef, which isn’t very much for a meat based meal because to that I add 2 red bell peppers, 2 large onions, about 15 medium sized mushrooms, a large tin of peeled plum tomatoes, a tin of tomato frito (tomato purée), 200ml homemade chicken stock, a glass of red wine, a few splashes of Worcestershire sauce, 2 bay leaves & a bouquet garni. (The last few refineries were added when I became more refined. 😉 )

All this would make a quarter of a 12 inch pot which would serve 4 bowls of spaghetti & the rest for making a lasagne for the next day.

To be continued…

20110729-091902.jpg

This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spaghetti Bolognese.

  1. Stef says:

    I love your load of veg in this recipe! And I’m eager for (dare I say it) an upcoming lasagne recipe?? 😉

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    You always make a mean spag bowl. x

Leave a Reply

