Pavlova.

Tuesday 2nd August 2011

As we travel around the UK visiting various relatives, my son, Zephyrus, has a chance to experience things that he isn’t always privy to at home. When in London, he gets to catch up with his cousins, with his Avi & Yaya he goes to the penny arcade, with his Grandma he can play (a lot of) tennis & here with his Granddad, not only can he play with the cats but more importantly he does his annual trip to the pick-your-own fruit farm.

Court Farm in Tillington has a bit of everything. Farm animals for the kids to look at, a maize maze, a very nice café, a trampoline & a huge range of fruit & veg to pick. Strawberries, blueberries, cherries, plums, apples & of course raspberries. Every time we come here we make a bee line for the raspberries. We always pick too many, but that’s half the fun. This time we ended up with 2 punnets full. Luckily, we were travelling on to some friends for dinner so it was the perfect excuse to arrive with the entire makings for a pavlova.

I bought the meringue case from the farm shop, whipped the cream until stiff, popped the fruit on top & sprinkled with some icing sugar – Voilà!

I cut everybody an enormous slice and we all stuffed our face little children.

Zephy did well.

“I can’t eat another bit of that meringue…” He announced. “…I’m done.”

All counts as one of your five a day too. You just have to ignore the cream & meringue. 😉

20110802-102815.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit, Organic, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pavlova.

  1. Stef says:

    Do you bake pavlova? Or is it a soft, fluffy base? It looks delish!

Leave a Reply

