Sautéed Asparagus.

Wednesday 3rd August 2011

These were my contribution to a meal my mother-in-law made last week. We had lamb chops. The asparagus here are much greener than the ones at home which always makes me dubious that they have been artificially tampered with. Still, Zephy enjoyed them.

While we have been away, this past week, we’ve been lucky enough to be cooked for, eat out, have some nice coffee breaks & even have take away fish n’ chips. One of the places we went for high tea was The George Pub in Bathampton. We all shared English breakfast tea & scones with clotted cream & strawberry jam. (Just trying to live up to as many stereotypes as we can while we’re here, you know. 😉 ) While I perused the menu I came across this quote.

“One of the very nicest things about life is the way we must regularly stop whatever it is we are doing and devote our attention to eating.”
Luciano Pavaroti.

It seemed be very appropriate.

20110803-115031.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Organic, Vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sautéed Asparagus.

  1. Stef says:

    Those stalks do look nice and green… perhaps they are just really fresh?

    The quote is lovely – assuming we all pause to eat our meals with mindfulness and joy. Here’s to that aspiration!

Leave a Reply

