Savoury Peas.

Thursday 4th August 2011

I made this for my son, Zephyrus, as a starter a while ago. He doesn’t usually have a starter with his meals but, if I remember correctly, the main meal was rather lacking in veg.

I learnt this dish from my mum. All through my youth this was prevalent at every family party. Along with a big bowl of buttered new potatoes & a sausage plait. It was a good veg option & and an alternative to salad. Sometimes it would be accompanied by a bowl of sweetcorn. A match made in heaven, peas & sweetcorn.

When I moved to Spain I noticed that they too had a similar dish, but rather than a side dish it was served as a starter. They sometimes put boiled potatoes with it to bulk it out.

Zephy sat up the breakfast table in the kitchen & ate his starter while I finished the washing up. 🙂

20110804-114557.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Pork, Vegetarianish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Savoury Peas.

  1. Stef says:

    Are those mushrooms in with the peas? Interesting…

  2. roger edwards says:

    give it a go. you’ll love it

Leave a Reply

