Mango.

Saturday 6th August 2011

Zephy eats about 4½ pieces of fruit a day. He more often than not will have half a banana on top of his cereal in the morning, to start with.

Then around 11 o’clock we’ll give him another. Maybe a chopped up apple or pear. This is what we would call his second breakfast.

For dessert after lunch we’ll all have fruit. That’s when the soft fruits come out; strawberries, watermelon or cherries. Mostly because we have to buy them in bigger quantities which means there is enough for all of us.

Between 4 & 5 o’clock he’ll have a snack. After his sandwich, we’ll give him another piece of fruit. This will need to be portable as we are generally on the go around this time so a pot of grapes or a mandarin do the job.

If I have time I’ll make a fruit dessert to have after dinner but if not I’ll choose a fruit that can’t be transported well. Figs bruise too easily to carry around & kiwis go sloppy.

Mangos have to eaten at home because you need to cut them & eat them straight away.

Zephy & I sat in bed & ate this while I read him his book.

20110806-110139.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Mango.

  1. Stef says:

    Did you give him the mango in a broken dish?

  2. roger edwards says:

    looks beautiful

Leave a Reply

