Chicken Kiev, Long Stem Broccoli, New Potatoes & Roasted Cherry Tomatoes.

Sunday 7th August 2011

I’ve been in the kitchen again!

The 1970’s is a decade I hold very dearly in my heart for many reasons. Firstly, because I was born at the beginning of them but also for; tree climbing, grass fights, the Fonz, Golden Nuggets, The banana splits, Angel delight, Hong kong fuey, elasticated trousers, black forest gateaux, Star Wars, the Queen’s silver jubilee & of course chicken kiev.

Mum used to get frozen chicken kievs as a real treat. When we cut into them a pool of garlic butter would come bursting out. Mine didn’t exactly erupt with sauce but the chicken was beautifully tender and garlic flavoured.

“What number do you think I’m gonna give Daddy?” Zephy asked the table.

“Don’t know, 8.” Said Amber.

“5. You give him a lot of 5s” Said Mum.

“10.” Said Avi.

“8 because you always say 8.” Said Mistral.

“Avi, you are the winner. 10. This is delicious.” He announced taking another mouthful. 🙂

20110807-094143.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Chicken, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Kiev, Long Stem Broccoli, New Potatoes & Roasted Cherry Tomatoes.

  1. Stef says:

    It looks like I missed this post; bummer! But I’m catching up now.

    Your kiev looks WAY better than some frozen number.

    Ooohhh, the Fonz. And Star Wars. Good times. 😉

Leave a Reply

