Blackberries & Plum Crumble.

Tuesday 9th August 2011

Dad’s plum tree is ladened with fruit at the moment. The birds seem disinterested in pilfering its wares this year.

Unlike others.

I watched from the window as Dad & my son, Zeph, went to the bottom of the garden with a set of ladders to collect some to go with our blackberries. Dad with his foot on the bottom run of the ladder, Zephy plucking & passing. They worked well as a team.

20 odd years ago he used to do the same with my niece. I remember watching my niece, no more than 3 years old, sitting on the kitchen top while she and my Dad bashed & flattened the pastry to wrap around the juicy plums they had just got from the tree. It would look like a patch work quilt when they had finished.

Fast forward 22 years.

My Great-nephew has fallen over and banged his head. As my Dad picks him up, the baby, makes the sound of air rushing through the trees & starts moving his arms from side to side, mimicking the wind. This is my Dad’s cue to walk Jayden to the bottom of the garden & pick a plum from the tree. Plum in hand, peace is restored in his world.

A bona fide family tree.

20110809-115715.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blackberries & Plum Crumble.

  1. rutheh says:

    Passing on the tradition. I loved your description of the plum picking.
    And the photo looks delcious.

  2. Stef says:

    This is SO beautiful! Both your story-telling, and the imagery, and the physical photo. Amazing.

    You’re becoming quite the writer, Jonathan. (In addition to the already-excellent chef!) 😉

Leave a Reply

