Peach Milkshake.

Thursday 11th August 2011

Zephyrus & I made this a while ago. We had a couple of peaches that needed eating up & as Zeph is always willing to obliterate something with a spinning blade he agreed to give me a hand.

In 1975 I started primary school. I hated it. I cried all day & was eventually permitted to sit in the same class as my sister, who was the year above me. It didn’t work. I continued to cry for another 2 days before the penny finally dropped and I realised that I was stuck there and I better start getting on with it. When I did start getting on with it, things got better, and I mean much better.

After about an hour in the classroom we used to have a break. At break time we were rallied into the corridor where we were told to sit on the floor, cross-legged, with our backs to the wall. Different classes would be sitting opposite each other while the teachers walked down the middle of the corridor handing out 3 inch glass bottles of milk with a straw.

The temperature of the milk would vary depending on the season. In the winter, the bottle would be wet with rain & the milk would be so cold it could give you brain freeze. And the summer months brought the smell of warm milk.

Pushing my thumb into the tight fitting silver foil, covering the top of the bottle, plunging my straw deep into the creamy white liquid & taking the first mouthful, was a fantastic way to bring me around to the idea that maybe it wasn’t so bad being away from my mum for a few hours.

20110811-114023.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Drinks, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peach Milkshake.

  1. Stef says:

    Aw, your story makes me a bit sad! I DELIGHTED in school – getting to ride a big yellow bus, getting to be around ALL of these kids of all ages, getting to learn new things EVERY DAY – I *LOVED* it!

    Even now, if I could be a full-time student, I think that would be a sweet gig…

    I was glad to read that you got over it, though – even if it did take some coaxing with milk. 😉

Leave a Reply

