Vegetable Omelette.

Monday 15th August 2011

My Dad came from a family of 5 children; 3 boys & 2 girls. He tells me he had a happy childhood with family holidays &, of course, a mother who loved him.

So the story goes, when my Dad’s mum wasn’t giving love, she was feeding her brood. (No pun intended. 😉 ) As a result, Dad’s got a lot of stories surrounding food & his Mum. I’ve already mentioned a couple before but this one never failed to get my jaw to drop & stare in disbelief as Dad repeated the number 12 over & over.

“How many eggs would you like Roger, 2 or 3?” His Mum asked.

“12…” My Dad replied obnoxiously. “…I want a 12-egg-omelette!”

“You couldn’t eat a 12-egg-omelette. You’ll be bound up up till next Christmas.” She warned him.

Although this happened a good while after rationing, when eggs were plentiful, they were not to be wasted.

“Yes I could…easily!” He told her.

And so she made him his 12-egg-omelette & my Dad ate the lot – sod’s law!

Mine was a 12-egg-omelette with extras. I started with 8 but couldn’t resist the temptation to use all 12 just to see what it looked like. I know mine had all the added veggies but I got a pretty good idea of what it must have looked like, and yes, he must have been bound up to the eyeballs after eating all that.

20110815-101111.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Eggs, Organic, Potatoes, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Vegetable Omelette.

  1. Stef says:

    Your omelet looks fantastic – but thinking of eating the whole thing in one sitting (or two, or three) seriously makes me feel ill. 😉

  2. Jo Dossetor says:

    Hi Jonathan, just been looking at your photos of food in Holland, & it looks scrumptious! nice light in the photos too! (but is it artificial??) Sounds like you must be on a farm – what a treat. Hope you’re all having a lovely time, & good luck with the blogger’s award. Jo x

  3. roger edwards says:

    huu! easy peasy.bring it on

Leave a Reply

