Bread & Butter Pudding.

Wednesday 17th August 2011

“Hello Mum. It’s Jon.”

“Hello love. Are you having a nice time?”

“Yup, it’s all going well.”

“You all egg bound yet?”

“Nope not yet, I’m working on it though.”

“Ha ha ha…”

“I’m ringing to find out how to make the sauce for bread & butter pudding. I’ve got as far as buttering the bread, putting it in the dish and sprinkling the raisins on top, but I can’t remember the egg & milk mix.”

“Well, it’s all according to how big your dish is really. I usually do 2 eggs, 1 yolk and about a pint of milk. And then the sugar.”

“Oh, you put the sugar in with the eggs & milk?”

“Yeah.”

“Oops, I’ve already put it on top!”

“That won’t matter. Push all your bread down into the liquid so it soaks it up. If you find that it doesn’t look like it’s enough then put in another egg & some milk.”

“So it’s 2 eggs, 1 yolk & a pint of milk. Cool, I’ll give it a go. Have a look on the blog tomorrow.”

“Alright love, will do. I’ll get Daddy to go on there.”

“Alright Mum, I’ll speak to you later.”

“Ok, have a lovely time. Love you darling.”

“Yeah, love you too Mum. Bye.”

“Yeah bye love.”

I ended up using 4 eggs & 1 yolk with 900ml of soya milk.

It started as a collaborative project between Zeph & I but after he had buttered all the bread, he lost interest.

Qué será, será. 🙂

20110817-101726.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dessert, Eggs, Fruit, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bread & Butter Pudding.

  1. Mmm…One of my favorite things. My boys and I made one with our leftover cornbread this week. They don’t call it comfort food for nothing.

  2. rutheh says:

    Looks like childhood captured in a dish!
    Great dialogue.

  3. Stef says:

    That is love in a pan right there.

    Your mom should be proud. 🙂

  4. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was very yummy. A great pudding. In fact I had it as a late tea the next day…it’s bread isnt it?!

  5. roger edwards says:

    Didn’t think I would become famous for bread and butter pudding! It looks better than mine.
    Well done you two.
    Love you, mum xxx

Leave a Reply

