Poached Egg on Toast.

Thursday 18th August 2011

Bread can make or break anything that is put on it or in it. Brown bread for toast every time. It’s like a meal in its self. You almost needn’t put anything on it.

White thick sliced ‘Mother’s Pride’ for a bacon sarnie. Tomato ketchup is optional.

Palma ham must be in a crusty baguette. That goes for salamis & any hard, cured sausage based meats.

Ciabatta works best with the soft cheeses like brie or camembert as well as avocado or pâte. Warm if possible.

Soda bread is good with soup. It’s dense & solid and yet soaks up the liquid perfectly.

Anything nutty or with seeds is good for the hard cheeses like manchego or a strong cheddar, as do the German rye breads.

This was a dark, seeded granary.

My son, Zephyrus, ate the egg on top & left the yolk sodden toast. Luckily, my wife was in the right place at the right time.

“Do you not want this Zeph? It’s the best bit.”

Each to their own, I suppose. 😉

20110818-114534.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Eggs, Organic, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Poached Egg on Toast.

  1. A poached egg on toast has to be one of the most comforting meals ever! Like the blog….

    • Thanks. 🙂

      Yeah, I like its unfussyness. The only problem is they get eaten so quickly. After all the preparation they are gone in minutes. 😉

      Thanks for leaving a comment.

      • Stef says:

        Isn’t that the way with most food, though? So much preparation for so little time of actual eating… But when people make meals for me, I really *do* appreciate all of the care that went into the cutting, frying, mixing, etc. I know how much work it is! 🙂

      • I guess it’s about getting the balance between cooking & eating right. Most times I don’t feel hard done by. But it’s the pernickety thing that don’t weigh up.

        I do like being cooked for though. 😉

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    The poached egg was perfect. Yummy and thanks.

  3. roger edwards says:

    that egg looked special.i’ll cook for you next time

Leave a Reply

