Fried Egg, Bacon, Roasted Tomatoes & Chips.

Friday 19th August 2011

Chips, or frieten as they are called here in Holland, are a big deal. Not unlike most parts of the world, I’m sure. In fact you’d be hard pushed to find a place on this planet that couldn’t provide you with a plate of fried potato sticks. But having lived in Spain now for the past 18 years, where chips are served with the main meal rather than as a snack, I’ve lost touch with the modern world.

Here, chips with a little pot of mayonnaise seem to be ordered in huge quantities. They come in a 2×3 inch plastic tray but are piled high & spilling out in every direction. They can be eaten as a snack while you are shopping or even on their own for lunch.

At the local municipal swimming pool, it was possible to order your chips pool-side, sit at the edge of the water & eat them whilst dangling your legs in the heated water. Sadly there wasn’t enough room for us to squeeze in between 2 young girls eating ice-lollies, a rather large woman holding a new born baby in one hand whilst slurping on an ice cream cornet with the other & a man in a pair of thick cargo shorts devouring a jumbo sausage, so we adjourned to the picnic benches outside to have our lunch. Come to think of it, maybe the man in the shorts wasn’t even suppose to be at the pool and was instead having a paddle on his lunch break. ๐Ÿ˜‰

For all my mockery, it did bring back nostalgic memories of when I was a teenager going to my local pool, swimming for what felt like hours then hitting the canteen for a paper cone of fried chips to walk home with. The smell of chlorine & chip fat does it for me every time.

I made these in a Tefal Actifry machine I found in the cupboard, here at the house we’re staying at.

“Wow! Those chips were better than the [Chicken’s] oysters.” Said Zephy.

It was quite fun to play with a new bit of machinery. Watch out, I spied a bread maker too. ๐Ÿ™‚

20110819-111741.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nanโ€™s house and of course mumโ€™s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when heโ€™s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Eggs, Lunch, Organic, Pork, Potatoes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fried Egg, Bacon, Roasted Tomatoes & Chips.

  1. lol…the whole thing.

  2. Stef says:

    Here in America we call them “Freedom Fries”. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    The chips were wonderful. Lovely and thin. The fresh eggs were great too and the dutch cherry tomatoes were so flavoursome. Lovely!

  4. avi says:

    a fry up does it for me every time

Leave a Reply

