Poached Plaice Filet with Parsley Sauce, Smashed Potato, Sugar Snap Peas & Carrots.

Saturday 20th August 2011

I’m calling these smashed potatoes as I couldn’t find a potato masher and improvised with a wooden spoon. As a result they were a bit chunkier than our usual finely puréed mash.

My son, Zephyrus, has always liked fish, ever since he was a baby. We used to cook a very similar meal, to this, for him when he was weening. A piece of dover sole poached in milk mashed together with some potato. It went down like a dream. Ever since then, we have tried to eat fish at least once or when possible, twice a week.

The job of doing this falls to my wife, (Usually on a Wednesday night) but as we are on holiday & I am back in the ‘cooking seat’ after a 3 week hiatus, I’ve taken up the reins.

The plaice was the best of a very poor selection. But, as they say, beggars can’t be choosers. Besides I thought I could tart it up a bit with a creamy parley sauce.

Although Zephy eats well, a little encouragement at meal times is sometimes necessary. I normally make sure he’s stocked up with carbs to keep his energy levels up but at the end of the day, I’m happy if he eats enough to feel satisfied.

“Would you like anymore potato Zephy?” I asked.

“No…” Came his reply.

This is his usual response, preferring to get down from the table as soon as possible.

“…but I’ll have some more fish if it’s going.” He continued.

🙂

20110820-113011.jpg

This entry was posted in Dinner, Fish, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Poached Plaice Filet with Parsley Sauce, Smashed Potato, Sugar Snap Peas & Carrots.

  1. rutheh says:

    Smashed, mashed- love a potato! Enjoy reading your stories.

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    This was a really tasty sauce and a lovely treat for me as plaice is one of my favourites from my own childhood. Thanks.

  3. Stef says:

    The parsley sauce looks beautiful!

    Why does your wife get stuck cooking the fish? (Usually.)

  4. roger edwards says:

    that suace does look appetising. sauce always makes a fish dish.

Leave a Reply

