Slavink, Corn-on-the-cob with Sautéed Potatoes & Brussel Sprouts.

Sunday 21st August 2011

So we were standing in front of the pre-packed meat fridges. And to be honest, we weren’t very impressed. None of it looked anything like the meat we’re used to. It was insipid & processed looking, rather than the browns, deep reds or burgundies that we see at our butcher’s. I wasn’t sure if perhaps all of it is veal, it’s so pale.

“What do you fancy?” I ask Zeph.

“This one looks good.” He says handing me a pack with 2 hamburger shaped objects inside. It looked like they had been sprayed with the cheesy dust they smoother nachos in. They were labelled Lams. I think not!

“No, they don’t look very nice.” I said.

“How about this?” He persisted.

But I was gone, mentally preparing another egg-based meal.

“Dad, what about this?”

It was 3 parcels of something wrapped in Palma ham.

“I’m not sure what they are Zeph.” I say turning over the packet trying to find something that would give me a clue as to what was inside the neat little parcels. A cute drawing of a cow or a pig would have sufficed.

“Ask the man.” Zeph said.

I located an assistant & approached him with my best ‘I’m a tourist’ smile.

“Hello. Do you speak English?” I asked.

Although everybody & his cousin speaks English incredibly well, I feel it’s only polite to warn them that I’m going to speak loudly & in an almost unintelligible staccato style.

“A little.” Came the international retort for such a question.

“What meat is this?” I asked.

He was telling the truth, he only spoke a little.

“Pig…” I prompted, ready to bring out the big guns and hit him with my extensive repertoire of animal noises.

“No.” He said trolling his memory for the names of English animals.

“Cow…” I continue.

Bingo! He winked, smiled & poked his finger at the package.

Great. Sounded good. A nice piece of beef filet wrapped in Palma ham. In the trolley it went.

With a splash of olive oil, I began pan frying the parcels. I like my steak rare so after 3 or 4 minutes on either side (It was quite thick.) I pulled them out & onto the chopping board.

It was only then, as I sliced into the parcel, that I realise that the cow that we had bought was actually…

sausage meat wrapped in bacon.

I think Holland is calling for me to be a vegetarian too. 😉

20110821-113609.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Slavink, Corn-on-the-cob with Sautéed Potatoes & Brussel Sprouts.

  1. rutheh says:

    You are very brave!

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    All the same it was actually very tasty! You can even make a sausage mistaken for beef taste good! Great veg. Thanks

  3. Stef says:

    Your sides look amazing. 🙂 Vegetarians, unite!

Leave a Reply

