Spaghetti Bolognese.

Tuesday 23rd August 2011

I have recently been to an allergy clinic & amongst other things have been told that I have an allergy to lactose & mushrooms. The dairy came as no big surprise, having suffered from sinusitis for years I had worked that much out and as a result had already ‘cut down’ on my dairy in take. Besides, I could substitute most dairy products with soya by-products.

But the mushroom thing completely blind sided me. The idea of bolognese without mushrooms is just wrong. Bolognese is mushrooms & mushrooms are bolognese.

Zephy has always put up some resistance to mushrooms. Complaining that he doesn’t like them. Well, that’s when he realises they are on his plate & if he remembers that he told me that he doesn’t like them. In short, it is just another way to take back some control in a world where he is constantly told what to do & how to do it.

Fair enough.

So when I told him I couldn’t eat mushrooms for the foreseeable future you would imagine he would say,

“Cool, good riddance to bad rubbish!”

Wrong.

“Oh Dad, I want mushrooms in my spaghetti bolognese.” He moaned.

Of course he did. 😉

So, last night, as we were walking across the lawn towards the house my son, Zephyrus, asked;

“What’s for dinner Dad?”

“Spaghetti bolognese.” I reply.

Pause.

“Dad, can you put mushrooms in mine please.”

Cheeky sod. 😉

20110823-114116.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Pasta and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spaghetti Bolognese.

  1. Stef says:

    He is TOTALLY a contrarian!
    I’m sorry to hear of your mushroom-and-milk allergies. 😦 (Though I suppose there are worse things… at least you can still eat chocolate, right?) 😉

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    I must say the bolognese sauce was delicious tonight and although I love mushrooms I didn’t notice their absence!

  3. roger edwards says:

    i always think that vegitarians should move the meat aside on their plate if they dont like it,as i would do with a yorkshire pudding. so. could you make a proper spagbol when we come over and just leave your mushhes on the side of the plate? there speaks a foodisteine!!

Leave a Reply

