Oven Baked Salmon on Onions & Yellow Bell Pepper with New Potatoes & Mange Tout.

Wednesday 24th August 2011

We went out for dinner on Friday night to a local restaurant. Nothing special, just an excuse to get out of the kitchen for the night. As Zephy has learnt how to read we’ve given him a menu. He generally doesn’t bother to look at it but we can sometimes entice him into reading it by saying he can choose what he wants. Most of the time he’s happy for me to throw him some choices but I rarely get past the first one before he says;

“Yeah, that.”

Luckily, I have a pretty good idea of what he likes. 😉

On Friday, the menus that the waitress handed us were in Dutch. So after a few minutes trying to work our way through it, unsuccessfully, we asked the waitress for a translation.

Zephy listened attentively to what she had to say before announcing;

“I think I’ll start with the fish platter & then I’ll have the spare ribs…thanks.”

And with that he closed his menu & pushed it to one side.

It was a proud moment to see my child choosing to eat fish of his own free will. 🙂

20110824-113405.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Fish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oven Baked Salmon on Onions & Yellow Bell Pepper with New Potatoes & Mange Tout.

  1. rutheh says:

    Good choices. And nice to have a night out and not in the kitchen, too,

  2. Mistral Zagni says:

    You should feel proud as you have developed his palette and general food interest so successfully. Well done. Great job. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

