Lasagne.

Thursday 25th August 2011

Two days later….

Of course the obligatory lasagne. But to be honest, it was a bit of a disappointment. Barely a shadow of its former self. Not only was it a cheap imitation of a bolognese sauce without the mushrooms, I was now put through the humiliation of having to prepare a lasagne without cheese.

Gone was the cottage cheese & crème fraîche mix that I had grown so fond of. Instead it was replaced with a soya milk based white sauce. You couldn’t get any more tasteless. A white sauce at the best of times tastes like it sounds but made with sweet soya milk & a butter substitute, it added a whole new level of boring. I did place a slice of Dutch Edam on the top of one side & a layer of spinach, in the hope that it wouldn’t ruin my family’s day as well.

“I don’t eat much dairy really.” I used to say.

Thinking, Well, I don’t put milk in my coffee nor on my cereal & I don’t eat cheese sandwiches either, therefore I don’t eat much dairy.

Wrong.

Having now had a couple of weeks to adjust my menus to my new dietary requirements, I’ve been made aware that what I thought was ‘cutting down’ on dairy was in fact eating all dairy, bar milk.

As I was making this lasagne the penny finally dropped that I can kiss goodbye to pesto, milk chocolate digestives, pizza, Tartiflette, macaroni cheese, goat’s cheese tarts, baguettes, croissants, lasagne, carbonara, puff pastry, crêpes & Nutella, amongst other more obvious lactose products.

I’m not crying, it could be worse. Just needed to talk. 😉

R.I.P. Dairy.

20110825-113352.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Pasta and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Lasagne.

  1. Oh wow. I think I would be crying. So sorry.

  2. Stef says:

    Dairy is a tough one. It’s actually one of the reasons why I’m not vegan; I just enjoy cheese (milk, butter, chocolate, cream, etc.) too much.

    Bummer Jonathan. I really am sorry. 😦

    Can you maybe take a lactose-blocking type product and see if that helps? Maybe worth a shot?

  3. ZAK PEGG says:

    I like lasagne a lot. Your blog makes me very hungry for comfort food now. Thanks for visiting my blog. CHEERS

  4. Amanda says:

    I feel your pain Jon. But… MAN UP! x

  5. Mistral Zagni says:

    I thought it still tasted great! I then enjoyed my desert of fresf fruit and cream and custard…I love the diary!

Leave a Reply

