Steak, New Potatoes, Corn on the Cob & Long Stem Broccoli.

Friday 26th August 2011

I’m not sure if I like steak anymore. I’ve gone off it. In fact, I can’t remember the last good bit of steak I had.

I like my steak with a bit of fat on it so I tend to go for an entrecôte. Over the last few years, I’ve realised this doesn’t always turn out to be as good as I expect. When eating out, even in a good restaurant, you never know if you are going to get good quality meat. I’ve eaten over-cooked, over-priced shoe leather in high end establishments. As a result, I never order steak when I eat out anymore.

When eating at home, I still don’t seem to get the results I’m looking for. I go to a good butcher where she assures me that the meat is from a local farm & I pay good money for what I believe to be high quality meat. (Anywhere between 6/7€ for a 300g entrecôte.) I cook it for 2 minutes either side & then leave it for further few minutes to stand before eating. But still, it’s just ok.

What I’m looking for is a rare piece of meat than cuts like butter & melts in the mouth. It does exist, I’ve had it before.

My wife favours the filet & she has urged me to switch allegiance, which I have on many an occasion but alas the results were equally mediocre.

I may have to cut my looses & move on.

Tofu steaks here I come. 😉

Zephy, on the other hand, rather enjoyed this piece of steak & ended up eating a good three-quarters of it.

20110826-115105.jpg

This entry was posted in Beef, Dinner, Potatoes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Steak, New Potatoes, Corn on the Cob & Long Stem Broccoli.

  1. Stef says:

    Meat is overrated. Join us veggies! 😉

Leave a Reply

