Philadelphia Cheese & Tomato Baguette.

Tuesday 30th August 2011

Zephy would rarely have a sandwich for lunch. Purely because he generally has a sandwichy based snack at about 5ish & I prefer to give him something more substantial that’ll last him. His body seems to burn through a sandwich like a furnace would a match. But as we are on the move again today, it seemed like the easiest thing to eat on a car journey.

When Zephy took his plate out to the kitchen after dinner last night he noticed that there was a chicken drumstick left.

“Can I have that?” He asked eagerly.

“No, that’s for lunch tomorrow…” I replied, earmarking it for my wife to take into work for her lunch. “…come on, off to bed.”

“Oh…it’s not fair.”

Fast forward to lunchtime today when I handed him his sandwich in the car.

“Where’s my chicken drummer?” He enquired with enthusiasm.

“No, Mummy took that for her lunch today.” I told him.

“Ooh…” He tutted, sandwich still in hand, mouth open. “…that…is SO not fair.”

“Oh sorry darling, did you think it was for you?” I consoled.

“Yeah…I don’t want this!” He said throwing the sandwich across the car.

He eventually got hungry enough to eat the sandwich & all was forgotten…until Mummy got in the car.

“Did you enjoy your chicken drumstick for lunch today?” He quizzed with a smirk on his face.

“Yes thank you…” She replied not really knowing why he was asking. “…how about you, what did you have?”

“A sandwich.” He said grumpily.

“Oh nice, was it good?”

“No, it wasn’t as good as your drumstick.” He said sulkily looking out the window.

20110830-102237.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Lunch, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Philadelphia Cheese & Tomato Baguette.

  1. rutheh says:

    Awww. Poor Zephy. Sometimes a sandwich just doesn’t do it.

  2. Stef says:

    Ooohhhh…. that is *really* not fair! Poor guy. 😦

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    Yes it was a lovely chicken drumstick!

Leave a Reply

