Cheese on Toast.

Friday 2nd August 2011

“That cheese smells gross!” He announced in his pseudo cockney Essex accent.

And to be honest it did smell a bit funky. But the taste & consistency would do the job. As I’ve said before, it’s not really to eat on its own but more to use in cooking.

In my experience, everything takes a bit of time to get used to. If you’re prepared to give it time, that is. It’s just a matter of changing a routine. You can learn taste later.

Before I left the UK bound for the Mediterranean, it was fresh full fat milk all the way for me. The thought of having skimmed milk, or even semi, was like drinking a glass of water that someone, who had drunk a glass of milk, had spat in. Once I arrived in Spain & found that UHT was the more popular choice & that fresh was harder to come by, I made the switch. It wasn’t long before full fat became semi then skimmed & ultimately soya.

Ironically, on the odd occasion when I’ve had to have full fat milk on my cereal it has left a fatty layer on the roof of my mouth as thick as a walrus’ double chin. Not nice.

At various times I’ve had to get used to life without alcohol, drugs, therapy, cigarettes, meat, country dancing & now dairy. All with varying degrees of success. I guess this is just another thing to become accustomed to.

I think I’m finally manning up to the fact that life still goes on, even if you have to eat lactose-free cheese. 😉

20110902-092825.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Afternoon Snack, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cheese on Toast.

  1. rutheh says:

    I liked your post talking about becoming accustomed to change- my mother actually mixed up a dried powdered milk with water. It always looked blue to me. I didn’t know there was lactose-free cheese!

  2. Stef says:

    It may smell funky, but the new cheese looks pretty good!

Leave a Reply

