Guinea Fowl Niçoise Salad.

Monday 5th August 2011

In my youth, as far as I was concerned salad was garnish. And garnish was on the side of the plate to make it look nice, not to be eaten. It was my wife’s mother who taught me that, not only could it be delicious, it could also be eaten as a main meal.

My wife & I met when we were 17 years old. And as you do when you first start courting, I used to drive the 12 miles from my parents home to hers to have dinner with my, then, future wife & her Mum. My mother-in-law’s style of cooking was very different to the two-meat-and-veg meals I was used to.

“Do you wanna come over for dinner?” She would ask.

“I dunno. What are you having?” I replied being a little too picky on reflection.

“I dunno. Mum…, What’s for dinner?…” She shouted out. “…Soup & salad.” Came the answer.

This would be the reply 9 times out of 10.

‘Great…’ I would think. ‘…More soup & bloody salad!’ But after time I got used to her wonderful eclectic salads filled with such things as apples, walnuts, grated carrot, grapes or olives, amongst other things. And over the years I grew to love them.

In fact, a few years ago after being given my meal in a restaurant, I asked;

“Have you got any olive oil please?”

“What for?” Asked the barman.

“For the salad.” I replied.

“What salad? That’s just the garnish.” He continued bewildered by my question.

No longer is it mere decoration on my plate, an unnecessary extra, but a soloist in an assemblage piece.

20110905-103119.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Lunch, Organic, Potatoes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Guinea Fowl Niçoise Salad.

  1. rutheh says:

    Looks delicious and refreshing. Mmmmmm.

  2. Stef says:

    Did your MIL make that one for you? Or are you just acting under her influence? Either way – nice work. 🙂

  3. Mistral Zagni says:

    yes I like a good salad and this certainly was a good one,

  4. roger edwards says:

    oh go on then. i’ll give it a go

Leave a Reply

