Spinach, Raisin & Parmesan Crêpe.

Thursday 8th August 2011

What…a bloody…nightmare!

All I wanted to do was make a quick lunch of savoury pancakes with my new pancake flour that I brought back from our holiday in Holland. Unfortunately you don’t always get what you want.

To my surprise, my new special 2 kilo bag of flour, that I insisted I jammed into my already bursting at the seams suitcase, was wholemeal. No problem, I can roll with the punches. So I make up my first batch of pancakes batter. A cup of flour, a cup of milk (Soya) & an egg.

I’ve had my cast-iron pan for years. It’s well worn & I’ve had no problems with anything sticking but of course today the laws of gravity were against me. Try as I might, that first pancake was stuck fast…& the second…& the third.

It was 27°C outside & I had my gas ring burning for England.

I was sweating.

‘A change of pan may produce better results’ I thought. So I decided to try it in my non-stick wok. It stuck! Time to dump the batter & try again with what I knew. I quickly made another batch of batter using plain white flour this time & went back to my old faithful cast-iron pan. By this time the washing up was starting to build. What with the pan changes, whisks, bowls, ladles, scraping implements & spatulas strewn over the work surface, I had little more than a chopping board sized space to work in.

I was running out of patients.

I poured my new batter mix into the centre of the pan & watched it solidify on the bottom of the pan for the 5th consecutive time. I removed it from the flame & painstakingly peeled it from the bottom of the pan & flipped it over to try & salvage at least one pancake for my son’s lunch. A few minutes later I removed a raggedy looking pancake from the pan & placed it on my chopping board. Undeterred I waded back in.

Success!

Zephy had been non-the-wiser, obliviously listening to music in his room whilst I had lost an hour & a half of my life & 3 kilos in sweat.

20110908-110047.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Eggs, Lunch, Vegetarian and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spinach, Raisin & Parmesan Crêpe.

  1. Colline says:

    Interesting crepe. I think I will try it next time my girls shout:”Mommy, I want pancakes”!

  2. Stef says:

    Ugh – that’s WAY too much effort for me. I think at about pancake #3 I would have said “forget this!”, and whipped up a sandwich. 😉

    After all that, were they super-tasty at least? I hope so!

  3. roger edwards says:

    sorry jon. i’ll have a sarny with stef

Leave a Reply

