Dairy-Free Tuna & Sweetcorn Quiche.

Saturday 10th August 2011

When I was a kid frozen sweetcorn was our default veg. That & peas. They seemed to go with everything that Mum served up; sausages, fish fingers, chicken or pork chops. And whatever Mum put them with, I gobbled them down. They were like liquid butter.

Curiously, I never cook with them now other than when I make this quiche. I would choose to use corn-on-the-cob more often but we don’t get it fresh here. It comes vacuum-packed in brine. So I rarely get it.

My wife can’t stand the stuff. If it’s on the cob,barbecued & slavered in butter, she’ll eat it but otherwise she’ll eat it reluctantly. Having said that she has always liked my tuna & sweetcorn quiche.

Or so I thought.

“What you making for dinner then?” She asked.

“Tuna & sweetcorn quiche.” I told her.

“Oh…great…sweetcorn…” Came the sarcastic reply.

“Yeah, but you like my quiche, don’t you?” I pleaded.

Silence.

“Well…I wouldn’t choose it, but yeah your quiche is nice. But you know me, I’m mad about sweetcorn am I?” She confessed.

Ok, fair enough I can handle that. I’m a big boy.

When we sat down for dinner my son, Zephyrus, came to the table.

“What’s for dinner?” He asked staring straight at the plate in front of him.

“Tuna & sweetcorn quiche.” I repeated for the second time that day.

“Oh…” He said wrinkling his nose up. “…I don’t like sweetcorn.” He continued taking a mouthful.

You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time.

Or something like that. 😉

20110910-114159.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Eggs, Fish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dairy-Free Tuna & Sweetcorn Quiche.

  1. Stef says:

    How did it go without the dairy in the quiche?

  2. roger edwards says:

    it looks good and by golly it’l do you good. what is it like without leche

Leave a Reply

