Baby Octopus, Garlic & Parsley & Spaghetti.

Sunday 11th September 2011

“Do you have to clean the small ones?” I asked the fishmonger.

“No, no need with the small ones…” She told me. “…Just run them under the tap & sauté them with some garlic & parsley.”

Sounded easy. Pair it up with some spaghetti & there you have it; seafood pasta, or there abouts.

I’ve had baby squid several times in restaurants. They either do them as the helpful fishmonger had told me or they dust them with flour before deep frying them. Both ways are delicious.

I started by frying 3 big teeth of garlic in some olive oil. I then rinsed the squid in cold water before throwing them whole into the wok. As it cooked the squid juices came out which I filtered off for later. I then splashed in a drop of white wine to de-glaze the pan before adding a good handful of parley. Once the spaghetti was al dente, I drained it & laced it with olive oil before combining it with the squid. Finally, I poured a little of the squid juice, that I had kept earlier, onto the finished plate.

It took pride of place in the centre of the table as I served everybody a hearty portion.

“I don’t like the squid, it’s too chewy.” Was the first thing that came out if Zeph’s mouth.

“It’s lovely. Try another bit.” I said encouragingly.

Which he dutifully did, bless him. But he was right. It tasted great but it was like chewing a mouthful of elastic bands.

Not great.

Graciously, my family fought their way through their plate, cutting, chomping & chewing, which I’m very grateful for but I don’t think it’ll be high on my list of meals to make again.

A friend once asked me what I did if I made something that turn out horrible. To which I replied;

“I don’t cook anything horrible.” 😉

Well Sean, here’s what I do when I cook something horrible, I tell everyone. 😉

20110911-092023.jpg

About whatdidyouhavefordinnerlastnight

I started this blog to record the meals I make for my son. One of the many great memories I have of my childhood is the food I ate. The smell of boiling cauliflower on a Sunday morning that steamed up the windows, Lamb sandwiches for tea in front of the tele, cubes of raw jelly at nan’s house and of course mum’s homemade pizza (made with a short crust base) I hope my food creates good memories for my son but if nothing else this blog might jog his memory when he’s older! Enjoy.
This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Dinner, Pasta, Seafood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baby Octopus, Garlic & Parsley & Spaghetti.

  1. Don’t sweat it. It’s easy to do. It’s even more embarrassing when a customer complains and your boss is the one to break the news to you with the plate of squid in her hand requesting a redo. Yikes!
    Looks great!

  2. Stef says:

    I had calamari once (before I became vegetarian), and I agree with Z: Much too chewy. Your rubber band description is very apt.

  3. roger edwards says:

    well i’ll have your 3 portions and you can have a macky dee each

Leave a Reply

