Cuban Rice.

Monday 12th September 2011

My son, Zephyrus, went back to school today. After 7 weeks of all being together, I am relieved of my duty to fix & prepare him 5 meals a day. Well, technically it’s only lunch because I still have to send second breakfast with him to have at break time & I also take him an afternoon snack when I pick him up from school but it feels like a big load off.

I’ve been catering for 2 main meals a day & quite frankly, I’ve run out of ideas. The Cuban rice was my swan song & a great one too, combining carbohydrates, protein & vitamins. My only concern is that it somewhat lacks in the vegetable department. Although it does have a tomato sauce it’s not enough for my liking so I sautéed some onion, garlic & red pepper and added it to the tomato sauce making a kind of sofrito.

Zeph & I spent his last week together while my wife went back to work. Most of which was spent catching up with his friends on play dates but lunchtime was reserved for just he & I when we would sit out on our little balcony and eat lunch together.

A lovely way to finish a very busy summer. 🙂

20110912-085609.jpg

This entry was posted in Dairy-Free, Eggs, Lunch, Organic, Rice, Vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cuban Rice.

  1. rutheh says:

    Lovely send-off to school. My students are into their fourth week already. Missing summer myself.
    Wishing a good school year to your son. And family,too.

  2. Stef says:

    It’s funny how even a small change can feel like a big relief. Here’s to a terrific school year ahead!

  3. roger edwards says:

    looks smashing. going to try it but you know dad with eggs. it’l have to be two

Leave a Reply

